Frequently Asked Questions relating to COVID-19

We are receiving a lot of requests for information and we will be updating this section with some of the most frequently asked questions. If your query is not covered by these answers, or if you have a more specific query, please contact the relevant department as per the email addresses listed below:

Registration as a Health or Social Care Professionalregistration@coru.ie
Recognition of International Qualificationsrecognition@coru.ie
Education Dept.education@coru.ie
Continuing Professional Developmentcpd@coru.ie
Fitness to Practiseftp@coru.ie
Enforcementenforcement@coru.ie
Appealsappeals@coru.ie
Freedom of Informationfoi@coru.ie
Data Protectiondpo@coru.ie
General Queriesinfo@coru.ie

Can I post documentation to CORU?

No, the CORU office is closed until further notice. Please email all documentation to the relevant department as per the above listed email addresses. Please do not post any documentation to the office.

How can I contact CORU?

The best way to contact CORU at this time is via email. The list of email addresses for each department is included at the top of this page.

If you need to talk to a member of staff, our phone line is only open between 10am and 1pm each weekday. Please select the number of the department you wish to contact and you will be put through to a member of staff.

Has CORU provided any information relating to the redeployment of registered health and social care professionals?

Many health and social care professionals may be redeployed during this crisis. The HSE has issued guidance on this.

Many members of the professions regulated by CORU will be redeployed for the essential swabbing and contact tracing work.

CORU understands that in such instances training and guidance will be provided by the HSE, as you will not be working within the profession for which you registered with CORU, while engaged in this work.

I have signed up to the HSE On Call service and wish to return to my professional register. How can I do this?

CORU has published information relating to former registrants who wish to return to their professional register. Please see here to read this information.

Can I still apply for recognition of my international qualification?

Yes, CORU is still accepting applications for recognition of international qualifications. All application documentation must be submitted through email to recognition@coru.ie and not via post. Please see here for further information.

Can I still apply for registration as a health or social care professional?

Yes, CORU is still accepting applications for registration as a health or social care professional. All application documentation must be submitted through email to registration@coru.ie and not via post. Please see here for further information.

Can I still renew my registration?

Yes, please log in to your online CORU account to renew your registration. If you have any questions on the renewal process, please email registration@coru.ie.

Do I still have to engage in Continuing Professional Development?

Yes, registrants should engage in CPD as time allows it and if it is possible to do so. Please see here for further information.

Can I still make a complaint against a registered health or social care professional?

Yes, CORU is still accepting complaints against registered health or social care professionals. All documentation must be submitted through email to ftp@coru.ie and not via the post. Please see here for further information.

Can I still make an enforcement referral?

Yes, CORU is still accepting enforcement referrals. All documentation must be submitted through email to enforcement@coru.ie and not via the post. Please see here for further information.

I am a final year student due to graduate in the coming months. Has CORU provided any information on the registration process for graduates?

For final year students, the registration process commences several months before a student completes his or her final exams. CORU has published information on the registration process specifically for newly-qualified graduates.

Graduate students can start their online application process at any time and can save it for editing, but it should not be submitted until their college has confirmed that their qualification has been awarded.

In the meantime, the applicant can be gathering the required paperwork, details of which can be found in the guidance notes available on the CORU website.

During the COVID-19 emergency, the paperwork needs to be submitted by email only.

Any questions on the graduate registration application process can be sent via email to registration@coru.ie.