Optical Registration Board Approved Qualifications Bye-Law 2020

At their February meeting, the Optical Registration Board made their Approved Qualifications Bye-Law 2020. This bye-law amended the Board's previous approved qualifications bye-law to introduce the Bachelor of Science in Optometry awarded by Technological University Dublin. The bye-law also names the previous awarding body, Dublin Institute of Technology. 

This means that the Professional Qualifying Examinations (PQE's) run by the Association of Optometrists (AOI) are no longer a requirement for registration in the Register of Optometrists. The Board acknowledged the role the AOI have played for many years in running the PQE's and look forward to continuing to engage with them in the development of the profession in the future.